Rhythms of Lent

1293065_torn_cross_4Lent used to be easy.  Like about every other kid in my school in the 50’s, I gave up candy and that was it.  Since we didn’t have much access to candy anyway, it wasn’t a big sacrifice.  I almost liked giving up candy, it seemed like a soft way to holiness and being holy was certainly a high held value in my small circle.

Then, when I felt I was too enlightened for all that religiosity, Lent was once again easy… to throw in with the Church towel. I didn’t need it and it didn’t need me to participate so we went our separate ways.  No one I knew did Lent.

Lent seems to be back, I heard a lot of people mentioning it today in conversation and online.  It doesn’t seem so easy anymore.  One friend spoke of her intention to do something nice for someone everyday of Lent.  Easy for a few days but maybe not 40.

There will be a number of Facebook drop-outs for Lent, that wouldn’t be easy for me. Neither would giving up fiction, bread, wine, or chocolate, some of my previous give-ups.  Still not sure for this year.  Maybe I will do an add-on instead like my “be nice” friend.  Instead of giving up something, add something else.  But probably not.  I think I will stick with giving up.

The discomfort, hardly deprivation, keeps me focused.  In spite of what I want in the moment, I want something else more in the end. Hard to define, but it always shows up by Easter and it definitely feels holy.

So early in the morning I will walk with my neighbor down the street to our local church and offer my forehead and my heart and await the adventure this year.  I will give-up and He will add-on.

And you?

1 Response to “Rhythms of Lent”


  1. 1 LINDA February 29, 2012 at 4:58 PM

    Tish – You are so fun – love your blog!!!!!

    Linda


Leave a Reply

