First Day of Spring Ritual

Sometime Thursday my husband and I will grab a couple of sandwiches, a few deviled eggs, carton of lemonade and a softball and head to the beach. I don’t expect to run into a lot of other picnickers although everyone knows it is the first day of Spring.

We’ll be there because we always go on a picnic the first day of spring regardless of the weather and it is usually somewhat nasty by the lake in Chicago during March. This year is a rare exception.

When our four kids were younger and came along we went through the phases of…

Oh this is so fun to go on a picnic in the snow!
Mom, didn’t you notice that it is raining?
This is SO embarrassing, what if I run into someone I know?
Can I bring a friend? This is so cool!
Are you and Dad going on your picnic this year?

The tradition isn’t about the weather or the beach but to remember a lifetime of spring picnics that started on a balmy March 20 some thirty-three years ago and to celebrate the hope of warmer days on their way. It is just what we do.

Most of us have a handful of rituals and traditions that become our link to the past, enjoyment in the present, and hope for the future. Some come from our faith, our culture, our experiences and some just seem to show up…like a balmy March 20 in 1975. I don’t think we would have ever started this on a snowy equinox but continuing it has never been in question.

Personal rituals shape who we are by calling us back to our essential selves. My rituals are my “stamp of identity” and when I get off-balance, returning to them grounds me once again. In my ongoing quest for renewal, returning to or creating rituals is one of the foundational steps.

What favorite rituals do you have this time of year?

4 Responses to “First Day of Spring Ritual”


  1. 1 bronx51 March 19, 2012 at 2:17 PM

    Yes, I do have a spring ritual with my girls. Because we are messianic Jews, we don’t celebrate Easter in the traditional way that the “church” does – we didn’t give the girls Easter baskets or chocolate bunnies. I came up with “Passover baskets” instead. They have candies and other treats in them, along with small devotional books or inspirational material. As the girls got older I also included small bottles of Body Shop treats or coupons for manicures. I decorate wicker baskets with ribbons and dried flowers. Even though our daughters are now 27 and 31 years old, I’ve begun scouting out items for their Passover baskets and will send them in the post. It’s a way of reinforcing our traditions as a Jewish family that believes in Jesus.

  2. 3 seasonurlife March 19, 2012 at 2:53 PM

    Love your idea. Your children will cherish these memories for years to come!

  3. 4 Letitia Suk March 19, 2012 at 3:00 PM

    Thanks! It is one of those traditions that would have never worked if we had started it in the pre-teen years. They were born into it as we started three years before any kids came 🙂


Leave a Reply

