Good (Enough) Friday

I used to be so confused by why they called it Good Friday.  It was good to get a day off of school but the whole story seemed anything but good.

My growing-up family did go to church twice that day, for the Stations of the Cross and then back again for the evening service.  I remember the covering of the statues with purple cloth and the silencing of the bells.  I knew the script and the rhythms of the ritual were comforting.  It was a good day for me…but was that the point?

Enter in the era of whatever.  Just an ordinary Friday for a time. My childhood faith couldn’t bridge the gap.

Back to Jesus again in my early 20’s, I finally understood the “good” but felt adrift as to how to observe.  What would possibly be “good” enough?

Coming from the same faith tradition, it was easy for my husband and me to come up with a Good Friday plan by the time our kids were old enough to observe the day. We asked them not to watch TV or play video games and separated them for about 30 minutes for a time of quiet. We did the same.  I think it was the quietest day of the year!

For many years we also traipsed to the Lincoln Park Conservatory on Good Friday.  Not that we were all that enamored with Easter Lilies but walking quietly in nature’s beauty set the day apart and that satisfied.

Eventually they were not home or too busy so that tradition faded away.

In this season of my life, the local Catholic parish re-enacts a Good Friday procession with a man carrying a cross.  The throng passes our house in the morning each year and I come to count on that ritual to open the day so to speak.  Last year they changed the route and never came.  I felt a little lost.

Our church offers an evening Good Friday service which I like. Some years I add the 3 PM Stations of the Cross service up the street and/or a movie about Jesus.  It never seems enough though.

I don’t think He is asking for more, it is me.

I will try again to say what I think He wants.  Thank You.

How about you?  How do you observe Good Friday?

4 Responses to “Good (Enough) Friday”


  1. 1 lilytemmer April 5, 2012 at 12:27 PM

    I love to listen to Orthodox music

  2. 3 Helen April 5, 2012 at 10:29 PM

    I grew up Catholic as well and feel I’m missing something by not “celebrating” Good Friday. I currently do nothing, except read the crucifxion story. I tried to start a tradition of watching The Passion, but that hasn’t gone anywhere. Oh well. Maybe we’ll find something satisfactory one of these days.

  3. 4 Letitia Suk April 6, 2012 at 9:03 AM

    Thanks, Helen. Perhaps visit a liturgical service, i find that very meaningful on Good Friday.


Leave a Reply

