Open Cupboards and Messy Drawers

You can always tell when I have been in the kitchen because the cupboard doors are still open.  When I take something out of the fridge, it may not go back in the “right’ place but slide into any available space.  I really like opening an organized drawer but if I stick around too long, it won’t stay that way.

Not that I am messy or disorganized in general, I am just quickly on to the next thing and often decide to clean it up “later.”  I like to think of it as my “4th corner.”

Like putting a fitted sheet on your bed, the first three corners go on with little effort…then there is that 4th one.

Playing out the roles in your daily round is a lot like putting on that sheet. The 1st corner is so easy…your BEST strength in your family, at your job, in your home.  The stuff you excel in.  Go ahead, acknowledge what you are really good at. Your friends can point it out in a nanosecond.

2nd corner goes on smoothly too.  Most of us have a well stocked tool box for our various roles.  You are definitely good at more than one thing.

The 3rd one can be a little stretch but more or less cinchy. You know you can complete the task, face that parenting challenge, strategize a solution; it might take a little longer but you know you can get that corner on too.

That 4th corner is a wrestle…you stretch, pull, tug and it finally goes on.  It never seems to get easier.

About one in every four times, you have to get that 4th corner on.  That role/response/requirement that doesn’t come naturally, is hard, or you just don’t like.  Like cleaning up after myself immediately instead of later.

Your 4th corner WILL show up in your household, in your family, at your job.  You probably know what it is in each area of your life.

It’s OK if that skill doesn’t come easily, in fact, it may never.

Don’t worry about it, just do what it takes to put it on.

But be sure to notice how easily the other three slid on.

It’s all about perspective.

6 Responses to “Open Cupboards and Messy Drawers”


  1. 1 Debbie McKenzie April 23, 2012 at 4:26 PM

    This was a great encouragement, Tish. Thank you.

  2. 3 bronx51 April 23, 2012 at 7:45 PM

    My 4th corner is that I’m not really good at household “tricks.” Like I don’t know how to fold a king-size fitted sheet. But I’m great at doing laundry and getting spots out.

  3. 5 lilytemmer April 24, 2012 at 1:04 AM

    I have resolved my 4th corner since I also make a mess in the kitchen.–when I cook, Mickey cleans up, but he calls me Chernobyl Lil!

  4. 6 Letitia Suk April 24, 2012 at 6:30 AM

    Thanks, LIly! Tom cleans up too when I cook but I don’t have a cute name yet.


Leave a Reply

