May: Summer’s Overture

Quincy in bloom“May is like the first rising of the curtain before the play, the first measures of the orchestral overture.  No moment afterward comes up to that.”  Bertha Damon

Once upon a time I received a greeting card with the inscription, “The anticipation was only surpassed by the actual event.” I am hoping that is the case with the month of May.

I like thinking of  April 30 as somewhat akin to Christmas Eve. The long winter waiting is over and the calendar page is about to flip over to the first stirrings of summer. I am giddy with excitement!

For all my appreciation of the past and my frequent episodes of nostalgia, I am definitely in the camp of “The Best is Yet to Come” to quote part of a line from Robert Browning.

I like to know that Farmer’s Market opens in May, even if I don’t go right away. May invites the clearing of my garden so I can plant some seeds and pretend I am a gardener. Garage sale signs will start re-appearing so I can indulge in my favorite type of shopping: gently used goods.

We will park in front of our TV for an annual rite of May to see who wins the million in our favorite shows, Survivor and Amazing Race, and then in a month forget their names.

On the freshly-turned May calendar are stars for Mother’s Day, a barbecue with my fun in-laws, a trip to Quincy to visit my Mom, another one to visit my son and his wife in New Mexico.  Just thinking about enjoying those events in MAY adds to the anticipation. The summer countdown has not yet begun, we are still in the overture but the concert fills the air.

I know, I know …the chill will slip in some days, it may rain at the barbecue like last year, the seeds I plant may never come up but right now it is the first day and still the perfect fantasy.

As I like to remind my coaching clients…we all need something to look forward to. Right now, for me, it is the month of May.

What do you look forward to in May?

6 Responses to “May: Summer’s Overture”


  1. 1 lilytemmer April 30, 2012 at 10:34 AM

    Always spring flowers and budding trees, however this year all the spring flowers are done already–so perhaps roses!

  2. 3 Tara April 30, 2012 at 8:07 PM

    Hmmm May is my favorite month in Chicago. Typically amazing weather, I never want to travel during May. Also, I always feel like a potentially great gardener in May, the whole summer is ahead of me, lots of possibilities!

  3. 5 camp15 May 1, 2012 at 3:10 PM

    I look forward to the crops being planted, corn in this field and beans in the other. After they start coming up they look like little green tuffs on a rich black quilt…spring in the country, a beautiful time of the year.

  4. 6 Letitia Suk May 1, 2012 at 4:16 PM

    That’s a beautiful word picture! My grandparents were farmers and I remember those fields.


Leave a Reply

