Basketful of Holy Books

Every morning I make my way to an old overstuffed flowery chair in my living room.  My family calls it “Mom’s Prayer Chair” and I am the only one who ever sits in it.  Could be because one of the legs wobbles but so far it holds up well.

In front of the chair is a wooden footstool made by one of my children in junior high…years ago.  The stool is ample size to hold a mug of tea and an English muffin on a blue and white saucer. I usually like quiet music in the background to add to the the ambiance.

Next to the chair is a burgeoning basket of books, I call them my Holy Books.  One by one in a prescribed order, I pull the books out. Some I read, some I write in, and when all the books are back in the basket, I am ready for the day.

Here is what’s in the basket these days:

First out is Jesus Calling by Sarah Young.  A one-page devotional that always seems to speak into just where I am.

My cornflower blue journal is next.  I write a brief account of the previous day.  More on this in a future post.

The next book I pull out is whatever writing is currently feeding me spiritually.  These mornings I am slowly re-reading One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp as it was so life-changing on the first read.  In the summer it is always one of Madeline L’Engle’s nonfiction works.

My white small 3 ring binder/prayer journal is next.  First I page through the pages of photos of my family as I pray for them, then I write my prayers from the place my heart is at each day.  More on that later too.

Last out is my well-worn, deeply underlined Bible.  I pick up where I left off the day before following a plan to read it through in a year-each year.

Sometimes there are other books visiting the basket but these are the mainstays.  In a few weeks I will transfer the books to the summer basket and carry them, and the tea, outside to my wicker chair on the deck for the outdoor chapel.

Handful of books, heart-full of transformation.

What’s in your basket?

6 Responses to “Basketful of Holy Books”


  1. 1 lilytemmer May 3, 2012 at 11:21 AM

    A great way to begin the day–with a peaceful and spiritual outlook, instead of reading the news and getting upset like I do! I think I might take a page out of your book from now on, Tish. Next to my bedside for years are Women who Run with The Wolves, Meditation as Medicine, Kundalini and the Chakras, and Louise Hay’s You can Heal your Life. Not Christian, but certainly a way of allowing for divine energies and light to enter one’s life.

  2. 2 Letitia Suk May 3, 2012 at 12:27 PM

    Try it, Lily. Any of those books would add meaning to the start of the day.

  3. 3 Helen May 3, 2012 at 3:38 PM

    Great post.

  4. 5 donna Byrne July 16, 2014 at 9:43 PM

    which are your favorite Madeline L’Engle books. i want to start one this summer and am looking for recommendations.

    Great post ! I like the pictures of your family members idea for a journal.
    My basket has the bible, my journal, a couple of commentaries: one by John Sailhamer who is excellent and a favorite devotional called A Kiss a Day which I have not tired of yet in over 5-6 years.

    • 6 Letitia Suk July 16, 2014 at 9:46 PM

      Thanks, Donna! She has a set of books called the “Crosswick’s Journals” and Circle of Quiet is the first one so I would start there. “A Kiss a Day” sounds great!


Leave a Reply

