Homecoming

I spent the past few days in my hometown visiting my Mom.  I get there a few times a year, often with one of my grandchildren in tow, but this time it was just me.

We sat in the high school gym for my nephew’s graduation.  Pomp and Circumstances always makes me cry.  Lots of memories from that gym of cheering our basketball team on, waiting for an invitation to dance to “Cherish,” wondering where we would all end up.  I don’t know the end of most of my classmate’s stories.

In the evening I strolled through the old neighborhood, pretending the same people still live in the houses.  Did I ever really sit and talk to them?  I wish I had another chance to not be in such a hurry.

The second day I met an old friend for breakfast at a local spot still standing since my growing up days.  She is one of a handful of friendships from high school that spans into the present…we talk about much more than “Remember when?”

My mom and I headed out in the afternoon and she still tells me to bring a jacket just like she always did.  I no longer remind her that I have navigated through many seasons of life and know how to decide if I am cold.  I just grab the jacket, happy that she is still around to mention it.

That evening I walked by my old school and church.  My class was the first one in the new school.  It’s not new anymore!  Both the church and school have different owners but I prefer to think nothing has changed.

The last day I chose my walking route to end up at the cemetery where my dad and grandparents are buried.  It was my parent’s wedding anniversary and I saw the date engraved on his stone along with his birth and death and my mom’s birth date. One last line to fill in.

Mom and I met a distant cousin for lunch.  Last time I saw her was a long-time-ago family reunion. Our grandparents were siblings. Maybe we will be Facebook friends and I will get to know her again.  After lunch we rounded through some of the old shops I like to visit and then it was time to pack for the train.

All aboard for the 4 ½ hour trip back to Chicago.  I love the rhythm of riding the train and watching the state of Illinois roll by in the setting sun.

I hope there are still many trips back home.

1 Response to “Homecoming”


  1. 1 Helen May 24, 2012 at 11:59 PM

    Aww sweet post.


Leave a Reply

