The Hardest Commandment

Quick Quiz:  Can you name the 10 Commandments?  I can usually come up with 8 or 9.  If you have been reading my blog you might remember that “The Ten Commandments” was the first movie I saw so I got a head start.

I also went to a school where we memorized them, much like the Gettysburg Address, so yet another opportunity to imprint them deeply in my psyche.

To be honest, they aren’t that hard to keep if you’re intentional about it. Lying, stealing, adultery don’t tempt me.  I would have a hard time taking the Lord’s name in vain.  I can honor my mother and the memory of my father most of the time.  I like keeping the Sabbath.

The commandment I have the hardest time keeping wasn’t even mentioned on Mt Sinai. Jesus gave the instruction and later Paul picked up the theme.

Don’t be anxious about anything.

Sometimes it is “don’t worry” but the main idea is the same.

I break that one every day.  I think you do too.

I would like an exclusion clause, stuff it is OK to be anxious about like global conflict or warming, the world economy as well as my own.  I feel justified being anxious about health and safety and whether or not it is going to rain on the day of my son’s outdoor wedding.

In fact, being anxious feels like I am doing something, making my contribution.

But no…the word says… Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Phil 4: 6 & 7)

Tough one but I will try again.

Is this one hard for you too?

2 Responses to “The Hardest Commandment”


  1. 1 Melanie July 9, 2012 at 8:21 PM

    Beautifully written! Thanks for being vulnerable to us… and to Christ. Love, Mel


Leave a Reply

