What’s on YOUR Life List?

As my neighbor pointed out to me this afternoon, I love creating lists.  Just putting items on paper results in such an illusion of accomplishing something without actually doing it.

You hear of those people who write something down they already did just to check it off?  Me!

So thus I was intrigued from the get-go the first mention I heard of a “Life-List”… AKA “bucket list.”  A fluid written to-do list of things to accomplish in the rest of one’s life.

See the Grand Canyon, learn to ride a horse, view Chicago from the top of the Willis Tower, read the whole Bible, master conversational Spanish, ride in a helicopter, etc.

The list is YOURS so it reflects your passions and interests.  I started writing mine down many years ago and keep it  in my prayer journal so I  can review and update often. Sometimes I delete an item if it no longer seems that important or add something that sounds like fun. Love crossing those items off.

Hike on the Great Wall of China… Done! …but have not yet met a President.  Still waiting to see the Indian Ocean but I walked across the Golden Gate Bridge as well as all around Lake Geneva (26 miles.)

Saturday I will have the thrill of crossing off another item as I board the Empire Builder this afternoon for a train trip from Chicago to Seattle.  I’m sure you will hear all about it!

Now if I can just find a way to visit Antarctica.

What’s on your list?

3 Responses to “What’s on YOUR Life List?”


  1. 1 Debra Davis July 12, 2012 at 9:25 AM

    I like the description of the list as “fluid” because it does keep changing! and I feel very fortunate to have been able to check “visit Paris” more than once.. I want to grow more flowers, take Italian language and cooking classes, go to the theater in London, have a pint at Fitzgerald’s pub in Avoca, Ireland, hear a Mozart concert in Salzburg and see crazy King Ludwig’s fairy-tale castle in Germany. I’d like to take the Orient Express from Paris to Moscow, with my husband and be certified to teach English as a second language. And then maybe retire to a flower-filled beach cottage with a wide porch and view of the ocean. Any ocean!

  2. 3 onehappilyeverafter July 13, 2012 at 11:58 AM

    “You hear of those people who write something down they already did just to check it off? “- Are you peeking in my window?


Leave a Reply

