I choose…100!

Several news magazines recently featured stories on living longer.  Since I passed the half way point a few birthdays ago, I am more than curious about how to extend my life lease….I want the longest one available.

Besides the suggestions that are universal to these type of articles …eat well, move often, sleep tight, stretch your mind, reduce stress and so on, I didn’t find the magic formula  concrete people like me long for.

I decided to go with intentionality.  Just say it: I want to live a century… 100 years.  There is a lot of fine print after that such as health issues, sound mind and financial considerations but I’m ready to go the distance and enjoy the process.

Before I moved on to the agenda of the day, I remembered the psalmist’s words in Psalm 90:12

Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom

Grabbing the calculator and the calendar, I numbered the days from now till my 100th birthday: 13,843.  A lot of time to make a difference in my circle of life including my own, don’t you think?

Obviously, God has the last word and knows my actual allotted number of days but until I find out, I’m planning to enjoy this abundant life as long as possible and of course, Hoping for the Best!

I will, however,  need “the heart of wisdom” to go the distance.

Care to join me?

4 Responses to “I choose…100!”


  1. 1 lauralea July 26, 2012 at 8:40 PM

    Yes, I join you. I love that word intentionality!

  2. 2 Letitia Suk July 26, 2012 at 10:14 PM

    Thanks, Lauralea, I am in good company!

  3. 3 Jan July 28, 2012 at 4:27 PM

    I’d be glad to join you, but I’m going for 110. My Granddad lived to 101 and his sister made it to 107. I will hit my halfway point in 1 year and 3 months. Adopted a dog this week to be my personal trainer so that I keep moving (and I’m already sore!).


Leave a Reply

