Got 5 minutes to pray?

“Try spending five minutes a day in prayer for your work and see what happens was the challenge proposed by our pastor during a sermon.  It almost seemed like a rhetorical request.  Of course I already pray at least five minutes a day for my business…don’t I?

Always quite concrete, (think Amelia Bedelia!) I grabbed a timer on the way to my prayer chair the next morning, set it for five minutes and began to pray specifically for my work.  Wow, that timer took a long time to ding!  I realized my prior prayer for job concerns was probably more like five seconds sandwiched between the kids and health concerns.

The next day, I decided to experiment and set the timer for one minute to pray for my coaching clients by name, reset it for another minute to pray for all my writing ventures, on to the next minute to pray for my speaking, 60 seconds for  my chaplain work and the last one for projects Tom and I do together. The five minutes flew by and yet the time seemed so full of prayer power!

Tom heard the same sermon and decided to use his five minutes of to listen to God for direction for his business and keep a record of what he heard. As usual, we have different prayer styles but are both seeing fresh blessing on our work.

You can still find the timer in my basket of Holy Books…May 3 blog post.  http://wp.me/pPRDV-97  Each day holds 1440 minutes…hard to claim a legitimate excuse for not finding 5 of them to invest.  You might be amazed at the return!

0 Responses to “Got 5 minutes to pray?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

