Change in Co-Signers

I sat in a small office at our local bank with my son today.  Last time we sat there together, he was 16 and just starting a job.  He needed me as a co-signer on his new account due to his age and I have held that position ever since…until today.

We met again in probably the same office this morning with the banker who happened to have been a teammate of Gabriel’s back in the heyday of high school football.  Instead of pads and helmet, he wore a suit, a nice one.  Both of these guys have come a LONG way.

Gabe has a new co-signer now, his wife of two days, Kimberly.  Heading out for their honeymoon in a few hours, wedding checks required a joint account and Kim needed her direct deposit changed.  I happily signed my name a few times and I was off the account as quickly as I added on half his life ago as he is now 32.  Somehow that little event seemed profoundly poignant.

I am still swooning with joy at each memory of the magical wedding weekend and, as is typical for me, I must finish experiencing before I can process and I am in no hurry.

I can say for sure though he is in very good care for the rest of his life with his lovely wife, Kim, as his co-signer on the marriage license. I step back, she steps in and I couldn’t be happier.

(Top photo by Lauren Ossola, bottom photo by Kelly Brown Vallicelli)

3 Responses to “Change in Co-Signers”


  1. 1 jan peterson August 28, 2012 at 4:49 AM

    congratulations on gabe’s wedding! she looks like a lovely bride. jan

  2. 2 cathyvincent August 28, 2012 at 5:41 PM

    What a wonderful description of passing the baton on to your wonderful new daughter-in-law. There are so many more wonderful moments to come and I am glad you are taking time to savor each one AND with us.

  3. 3 Patricia E Linson September 1, 2012 at 12:48 AM

    Being able to relinguish willingly your position of chief influence in your son’s life means you and your son have a loving, trusting, and maturing relationship with each other. What a blessing from the Lord.


Leave a Reply

