Miss you on your birthday, Dad

Happy Birthday Dad!  Wish we could celebrate tonight with a pineapple upside down cake and off-key singing. You were always hard to buy for, as many men are, but now I could shop online for you and surely find something unique…but of course, you’re not around to open my gift.

Did I ever thank you for teaching me how to play baseball or ride a bike?  I didn’t like it at the time when you insisted I learn how to drive stick shift before I could get my license but I am so grateful now.  I taught my husband you know 🙂

There are cool stories about you floating around like how you were the Adams County tennis champ and your brief stint as a police officer.  I wish I could hear about those adventures in your words.  I know you worked hard for us, sometimes two jobs at a time.  BTW, I loved that second job at the drive-in when we all watched the movies over and over under the stars.  It probably wasn’t as much fun for you.

I know we had 44 years together but there was so much more we both could have said.  “Relationship Parenting” was not an operating principle in your generation but I knew you loved me.

I wish you could have met these fabulous great-grandchildren of yours.  I hope you can see them from your vantage point and you will be glad to know, Mom dotes on them every chance she gets.  Don’t worry, I will pass on the stories so they will know you too.

Tony Wiewel around 14 years old 1923-1994

So cheers to your 89th!  Love, Your “Cutie”

8 Responses to “Miss you on your birthday, Dad”


  1. 1 Adey Wassink September 3, 2012 at 9:57 AM

    Beautiful and touching, Tish! Thanks

  2. 3 Melanie Rigney September 3, 2012 at 11:09 AM

    Nicely done! Thanks so much for sharing.

  3. 5 Carol Armstrong O'Brien September 3, 2012 at 1:36 PM

    Hi Tish first let me say I enjoy all the writing U do on F B . Such a nice story U just wrote about your Dad . So I wanted to share with U . That your Dad ( Jerry or Tony ) was my partner at Agnes & Freds wedding back on May 31st,1958 .
    Seen the pictures of your Son & Kim wedding last week .Very nice . Also Tim S called last eve said they had a good time & enjoyed seeing your family . We had a great visit also with Mary & Tim and glad they stayed with us . Its always good to C Family .

  4. 7 Mary Armstrong-Reiner September 5, 2012 at 9:07 PM

    Oh Tish you made me cry. I feel blessed to have your dad as my uncle & I was blessed to read about Uncle Tony from you. Bless him & you.


Leave a Reply

