Got regrets?

“Dream as if you’ll live forever, Live as if you’ll die tomorrow” reads the plaque in my office. The words seemed so positive and hopeful when I first saw them in the little shop.

I’ve got the first part covered (I am GREAT at dreaming)  but the second part still seems surreal.  Less surreal this week as four friends recently died in eight days. Beloved, honorable, faith-filled men and women probably still dreaming.

So I’m thinking a lot about the “living” part of that quote.

One of the admonitions often heard from my mom was one you might have heard from your mom too…”Make sure you’re wearing nice underwear in case you end up at the hospital.”

As a Chaplain, I get called to the emergency department for all sorts of traumas and can assure, no one has ever mentioned regret about their underwear.

Some days I can’t even get to the corner without regrets.  Something I should have said but didn’t or the reverse.  A simple task I neglected to do with results that are still cascading.  An email dashed off too soon or too late.  The laments of the night seem darker, right?

So how does one “Live as if you’ll die tomorrow?” I’m working on that one. This is my list so far:

  • Say  it.
  • Go for it.
  • Do the ONE thing you know you must.
  • Clean up when you mess up.
  • Take the Leap of Faith throughout the day.
  • Realizing many actions, conversations, opportunities can’t be re-done, but they can be restored.

My four friends lived like that.

No regrets?  Not yet… but fewer.

8 Responses to “Got regrets?”


  1. 1 Melanie Rigney September 10, 2012 at 5:22 PM

    Tish, this is perfect timing. A woman in my faith community died this morning. While I did not know her well, I know people who did. Your thoughts are challenging but doable in faith. Thanks, friend.

  2. 3 Iris Sonkin September 10, 2012 at 6:10 PM

    Excellent, Tish. Thanks for the challenge.

  3. 5 sandyboller September 10, 2012 at 7:15 PM

    Thanks for the message. This has hit home all too close. A few months ago Niki’s mom went upstairs to take a nap and never awoke on this side of heaven. We are still in deep grief over this and I have been thinking a lot about life and living each day as if there may not be another one. Oh my, this is hard. Then this past week another mom of one of our church members died the same way. Niki’s mom was 63, Kyla’s mom was 65…
    I too need to have this sign posted as a daily reminder. Praying for you. Will you pray for our family as well? Thanks friend!

  4. 7 Nadia Seitz September 11, 2012 at 9:59 AM

    Love the list ! Am a fan of your blog….in the rush of my day I stop what I am doing to read it…I know there is wisdom there that I don’t want to pass up! Thanks for sharing it.


Leave a Reply

