Receipts Tell a Story

Like any good Life Coach, I do my work too and along with my clients, embarked on the “Ten Goals in 90 Days” plan.

Goal # 8:  Enter receipts into Mint.com.  I expected a perfunctory, somewhat boring task.  Instead, with a cathartic Pandora station playing the soundtrack, I am time-traveling, laughing, crying and re-visiting the past few months.

The CVS receipt for the peanut butter ice cream bars invites another look at that hot Saturday morning of garage sales with my grandchildren.  The sales didn’t thrill us but standing in front of the freezer carefully choosing from the array of options did.

The sales slip for sparkly dress I bought the day before our friend’s party caught me  laughing at the fun of finally dancing again.  Next appeared the long itemized list of plants I purchased when I was so hopeful for the garden (before the drought) followed by the receipt for ingredients I bought to make the once-a-year 4th of July dessert, Blueberry Cream Pie.  What a fun day that was!

I shot up thanks again on finding receipt from the resale shop deals that outfitted me for a summer trip. $13 for five items 🙂

The wedding receipts wrap me in the exquisite joy of that week and tears slip down my cheeks.

Money spent is not just an expense but sometimes morphs into an investment in the story of your life. 

Some days, handing over bills or a card for an ordinary purchase  suddenly opens a new exhibit in our “museum of memories,”  sets a stage, opens  a door. Definitely…Priceless!

Like a pile of photographs, the receipts tell stories and I am loving hearing them again.

Buying the memory of a train ride to Millennium Park

7 Responses to “Receipts Tell a Story”


  1. 1 aspirecoach September 13, 2012 at 4:17 PM

    Hi Tish! I feel the same way about my annual entry of business receipts!

  2. 3 Melanie Rigney September 13, 2012 at 5:20 PM

    This is great, so positive. I tend to look in a less loving manner–“I spent HOW MUCH on hair cuts so far this year?” I’ll now try to remember the compliments I got instead, and the occasions that prompted the cuts! Thanks!

  3. 4 Letitia Suk September 13, 2012 at 5:22 PM

    Thanks, Melanie. I am all about re-framing 🙂

  4. 5 Cath September 13, 2012 at 5:46 PM

    I love your posts. I think God cut us out of the same cloth. Enjoy those little things. They are really BIG. Cathy : D

  5. 7 Glenna September 14, 2012 at 12:37 AM

    I love this, Tish. I don’t use mint.com but now will look into it! Beyond the objective stuff, I plan to have a very emotional experience looking at wedding receipts! (emotional in a good way!) Great post!


Leave a Reply

