My 5 Favorite Prayers

Anne Lamott’s new book on prayer got me thinking about my own favorite prayers.  Since I use them all the time, they are easy to remember.

  1. HELP!  Definitely the MVP:  Most Valuable Prayer.  I once heard John Wimber, founder of the Vineyard, call this his favorite prayer.  Looks like King David’s favorite too since it is all over the Psalms. Useful in any situation.  Feel free to whisper, shout, cry, just get it out and watch what happens

 2. THANKS!  This one is the TNT…something powerful releases when we give thanks.  Give thanks/thanksgiving comes up 100 times in the Bible. “Give thanks in ALL circumstances.” (1 Thess 5:18) is not always easy but never fails to transform.

 3. SORRY! Can be a quick prayer or more involved, depending on what I am sorry for. Best to say it quickly and move on. “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us.” (1 John 1:9)

 4. WHAT????   This prayer is for those times I don’t get what’s going on. I think God is cool with our groans of confusion and even encourages the conversation.  I do believe everything happens for a reason but we often don’t get to know the reason, at least for a while.

5. OKAY.  That is where I like to end up.  Okay, I trust you.  Okay, you can take care of this.  Okay, I will wait a little longer.  Okay, you are God and I am not.

Do you have favorite prayers?

0 Responses to “My 5 Favorite Prayers”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

