5 Things to Know about Parenting: Biblical Do’s and Dont’s

1.  Know your Biblical Do’s and Don’ts for Raising Kids.

I think I could do well as a used book-seller of parenting books except that I don’t want to sell them!  In spite of my large collection of expert opinions, my first go-to book on how to raise kids is the Bible.

Scripture contains so much positive instruction and the Bible is a great source for  relationship advice. I also found clear do’s and don’ts guidelines for parents to follow for raising any child.

The Do’s:

  • Pass on the faith to your children (Deuteronomy 6, Psalm 78 and countless other references.)
  • Point your kids in the right direction—when they’re old they won’t be lost. (Prov 22:6, The Message)
  • A refusal to correct is a refusal to love; love your children by disciplining them. (Prov 13:24, The Message)

The Don’ts:

  •  Parents, don’t come down too hard on your children or you’ll crush their spirits. (Col 3:21 The Message)
  •  Fathers, don’t exasperate (provoke, frustrate, annoy) your children by coming down hard on them. Take them by the hand and lead them in the way of the Master. (Eph 6:4, The Message)

Interesting how the do’s and don’ts complement each other, lead but don’t force.

God parents us with grace and mercy and we can learn from his example. 

Sometimes when I struggled with the same issue again with one of my children I remember how many times God has forgiven me, how many 2nd, 3rd, 4th chances I have had.  “Let’s start over” became easier to say because God was saying it to me.

Thoughts?

Next up Monday:  2.  Know Child Development

4 Responses to “5 Things to Know about Parenting: Biblical Do’s and Dont’s”


  1. 1 Nadia Seitz November 1, 2012 at 6:39 PM

    I printed and cut out the Do’s and Don’ts. They are now taped over my counter in the kitchen (where I make lunches etc…)

  2. 3 Bethany November 1, 2012 at 8:31 PM

    I love this. Such a good reminder of the essential truth!


Leave a Reply

