Still Thankful?

A funny cartoon was flying around Facebook on Black Friday about the irony of the mad frenzy of shopping just one day after being so grateful for what we already have (someecards).

Gretchen Rubin (The Happiness Project) echoed a similar thought about “The Lost Wallet Syndrome” in the Nov 2012 Good Housekeeping magazine. …If you lose your wallet you think you will be forever happy when you find it but when you do, the new happiness lasts about 2 minutes then you’re back to where you were before.

How can we hold on to Thanksgiving?

Years ago at the urging of a popular writer, I started a “Gratitude Journal” and wrote down 10 things a day I was grateful for.  Nice idea, right?  Until I forgot, was too tired, or it felt obligatory.

About 360 days will pass before we have some sort of cultural obligation to express what we are thankful for. I don’t think we need to wait that long.

Giving thanks seems to unleash something much bigger than the items I am naming. To say “Thank You” to God throughout the day for each person, event or observation that comes my way seems to synergize into much joy as well as more to be thankful for.  Believe me, I’m not sure how it works!

For all that has been, Thanks. For all that will be, Yes. *

I do know that Jesus “Gave thanks” before the 12 loaves and fishes fed 5,000.  King David excels at giving thanks in the Psalms and the Apostle Paul urges the near impossible, “Give thanks in all circumstances.” (1 Thess 5:18)

So I decided not to stop at 10 or to reach for 1000 as Ann Voscamp in her transforming book, “1000 Gifts” recommends but to sprinkle the day with thanksgivings for what I see and what I don’t.  It’s working pretty well.

Thank you for reading my blog!

(Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos)

*Dag Hammarskjold

0 Responses to “Still Thankful?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

