Happy Birthday to my Bionic Left Knee!

One year ago today I limped into a local hospital with my fashionable pink cane and felt like I signed my life away on the ream of forms a major surgery seems to require.  18 months of debilitating pain and after all the treatments failed, total knee replacement became the only option.

One by one, members of the medical team came in to my waiting room to educate me on their part in the imminent procedure. Overwhelming.

I thumbed through my stack of 3 X 5 cards I created for hope.  Each one had a scripture, a quote, and promises of goodness on the other side of this.  When I couldn’t stay fully awake due to the medications, Tom kept reading them to me.  Next thing I saw were the glaring lights of the recovery room lights.  I made it through the surgery.

Because it was the beginning of the holiday season, I brought Christmas lights to decorate my room, a battery operated Advent candle for nightly readings and prayers and a little CD player to fill the room with holiday music.  Just like at home, I placed photos around the room and even attached a few things to the wall.  I think the staff liked coming in to my room 🙂

Leaving the hospital

Four days later, my family helped me back into my house where I stayed for 4 weeks well attended to my family,  in-home nurses, physical therapists and many friends carrying meals and entertaining me with conversation.  I decided it would be a holy time and it was.

The next few months were hard.  Lots of PT, a dark time of drug reactions, still difficulty in getting around.  Each milestone got celebrated:  The stitches coming out, the end of in-home nursing care, returning the walker, the day I walked to the end of the block, went back to work, stopped using the cane and finally clipping my pedometer back on.

Friends often ask if I would do it again.  It took about 4 months to start to say “maybe” but now I give a hearty YES!

Each day I am aware of what my life would be like without my bionic knee and I am so grateful.  Thank you to all who prayed, encouraged, brought food and loved me through this.

To my left knee….Cheers!

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday to my Bionic Left Knee!”


  1. 1 Kathy December 1, 2012 at 9:28 PM

    so good to see how someone gets through this and makes it clear through to the other side of the “valley”. Thanks for sharing, Tish. Kathy Bogacz


Leave a Reply

