What Did You Get For Christmas Last Year?

Wrapped giftsQuick!  Do you remember three things you got for Christmas last year?  I didn’t think so.  At least not without a few minutes to think about it.

Good to remember today with 11 days to go while I am keeping a nervous eye on how many days of free shipping I have left at Amazon.  Kind of crazy…all the energy, not to mention $$, put into finding THE great gift only to have it not remembered for long.

Sure, I remember a handful, and always the baby dolls from my childhood that smelled so good.  One of my children usually gives me a gift that elicits tears of joy.  They call it the “crying gift.”  I definitely remember the powerful elixir of love, affection and being “known” that imprints long after the exact gift fades.

Fortunately, we decided years ago to give our kids no more than 3 gifts each, based on the Gold, Frankincense, and Myrrh model.  Stocking stuffers don’t count and neither does the small joke gift but limiting the number limits the “gift-anxiety” syndrome of running back to the store for just one more thing.  Probably soon forgotten also.

Perhaps it is not the gift per se but the moment the gift brings that keeps us on the hunt for just the right thing.   The moment that’s right before the opening that holds all the promise & possibility.  Intangibles for sure, but a gift can be the harbinger of matters of the heart.

So I carry on with my lists and forays to various websites still hoping for a WOW.

The perfect gift may not be remembered but the love that wrapped it up won’t be forgotten.

2 Responses to “What Did You Get For Christmas Last Year?”


  1. 1 Chris Kincaid December 13, 2012 at 9:46 PM

    Many years ago I started a notebook for gift giving. Each year I write in it what I bought for everyone and then I write down what my husband, my children and I received. It sounds a little OCD, but it is fun to look back over the years to see what everyone got. And it also saves a lot of embarrassment if I have something to re-gift.


Leave a Reply

