A PLAN to plan

NotebooksI spent the day yesterday holed up in a little room in a convent in Chicago.  No…I am not running away but running towards the next few months and I don’t go far without a map and a plan.

From my first convent retreat in 1977, I’m drawn back a few times a year.  Something about the QUIET, the space that feels sacred, the holy legacy that seems to reverberate from the walls beckons me to sit a spell and prayerfully re-set the next season.

Like cleaning out my purse, I lay the pieces of my life out on the bed and pick them up one by one to examine it.

Where do I need to tighten up my time?  Let go of an expectation?

What’s working/ not working for me as a writer/coach/speaker?

Do I like my exercise plan?  Yes

Do I have enough rhythms of order?  No

Similar to pouring through the pages of a captivating novel, I rapidly turn  page after page of my notebooks (I am definitely a paper planner!) to capture an idea, note a book to check out, a project to start and another to let go of.

Towards the end of the day, all the lists got modified, consolidated and added to calendar pages and I celebrated another three months of planning with a cup of tea and an oatmeal cookie provided for the guests in the communal snack room.

By May, I’ll be back as the purse of my day-to-day life will overflow again and need another cleaning out.

What about you?  Do you take planning days?  I would love to hear about them!

0 Responses to “A PLAN to plan”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

