Clearing the Closet and Finding my Style

Messy closetFashionista I am not.  Hardly even trendy.  I like what I like, don’t you?  In this season of life, that’s all that really matters to me.  Good thing because sometimes my daughters try to suppress an eye roll when I enter a room wearing something I find very “Tish-like.”  I like to believe they are finding some elements of my “style”  endearing even if they don’t agree.

After a conversation with a dear friend who always looks fabulous and owns about a dozen pieces of clothing, I resolved to do a closet clearing.  Besides, it fits my current “order” theme.

Early this morning, I grabbed armfuls of clothes and laid them out on my bed.  Trying to stay detached, I began to cast most of them into the donate pile.  The cute pink shirt that never looked as good on me as it did on the hanger, the black pants I wore incessantly until they could pass for charcoal grey. I loved the lacy top but could never find anything to go with it so it landed in the pile too…and so many more.

Some items I danced back and forth with from the closet to the pile.  Yes/no, couldn’t decide. Since I buy most of my clothes resale, the financial sting wasn’t too piercing so I carried on into sorting my dresser as well.

I enjoy starting projects much more than finishing so I struggled to stay on task but 4 trash bags await the next donation call and what is left is really what I love, well, mostly.

The resale shop will be wailing like a siren again soon and I’m sure you will find me browsing the racks in search of the elusive perfect piece but feel free to ask me if I’m crazy about it, need it, and have something else to wear with it.

Lovely blouseMy favorite piece of clothing

See you Monday!  Hope for the best.

6 Responses to “Clearing the Closet and Finding my Style”


  1. 1 Kirra Antrobus January 24, 2013 at 6:56 PM

    I love cleaning out my closet. It’s freeing to get rid of those shirts I only wear if the laundry needs done.

  2. 3 lauralea January 24, 2013 at 8:07 PM

    I love your favorite top! Feel free to pass it on to me before it lands in a bag! Lauralea

  3. 5 jan peterson January 25, 2013 at 5:22 AM

    oh my gosh, tish! i can’t believe how even today, after all these years away from wiu, we have so much in common! first your bookcase, now your clothes!!! i, too, get most of my stuff from resale or thrift stores, and i can’t wait for garage sale season to start up again!

    thank goodness that larry is as much as a fanatic as i am, only he looks for books, camping stuff, and “junk”.

    when we go on a trip, the first places we stop are the thrift stores! it’s a disease, i guess. our son told us for everything we buy, we have to get rid of two things…that way, the kids won’t have to deal with sooo much stuff when we are “gone”!!

    our town recently started a thrift store called “new leash on life” which donates 100% of their earnings to the humane society. i can’t stay away from that place! i donate and shop there! the great thing about it is, i feel that when i shop/donate, it is going to a cause so near and dear to my heart. we have three adopted furry friends…two dogs and a kitty.

    well, off to the closet to CATCH UP WITH YOU! jan peterson


Leave a Reply

