Two Lifelines for Parents

Life ringI had three kids in four years and later went back and had one more.  I was full of theories about child raising before I had them and full of questions after I did.

I was planning on finishing up my “Five Things to Know about Raising Kids” series with #’s 4 and 5 but want to give a bit of a prologue today and share a couple of lifelines that kept me afloat through many storms:

1)  It was not random that you and your child got assigned each other. God trusts you to parent your kids. He equips us with everything we need now for this current stage and everything we’ll need for the next phase will show up in due time.  Count on it.

It is easy to think…one more book to read, one more lecture to go to or even one more prayer to pray, and then I might be equipped.  God provides “everything we need for life and godliness” (2 Peter 1:3) and that includes raising our kids.

Just like we can’t access our funds without an ATM card or a checkbook, we access God’s wisdom and resources through prayer.  Even when you don’t know how to pray, try it anyway.

2) Steven Covey reminds us …When a plane flies from London to New York, it is off course at least 90% of the time. The reason it arrives on time and at the correct destination is due to continuous course correction, responding to feedback from the navigation systems.  (The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Families.)  Parenting is like that too.  Count on being off course from time to time but also trust you will land at the right place on time.

Plane flying

See you Thursday.  Hope for the best!

6 Responses to “Two Lifelines for Parents”


  1. 1 Melanie Rigney January 28, 2013 at 5:46 PM

    Love this, Tish… while I’m not a parent, I think the message resonates in life in general… God gives us what we need. All we have to provide is the faith and confidence and love!

  2. 3 Chris Douglas January 28, 2013 at 6:04 PM

    Thanks Tish, I needed to hear this. I was just getting ready to ask you for a book recommendation when I read that line. Now with a teen, I’m learning to lean on God much harder and ask him to speak to me and my daughter about all kinds of things. Blessings to you.

  3. 5 Kelly January 29, 2013 at 12:33 PM

    I’m quite certain the second life-line was specifically written for me… so much so that I actually laughed out-loud and then mentally smacked my fore-head… THANK YOU. What a wonderful and much needed reminder of perspective during this “season”.


Leave a Reply

