Are you the One praying?

PrayingIn Anne Lamott’s new book, “Help Thanks Wow” (Riverhead Books, 2012) she talks about growing up in a family where no one prayed except her grandfather.  One of my favorite lines in the whole book follows…

“And as it turns out, if one person is praying for you, buckle up.  Things can happen.”

Are you the one praying?  For your family, your neighbors, your co-workers, someone you read about in the news, the mom and daughter you see arguing at the mall?

It is easy to say and many do… “Our thoughts and prayers are with you” but are they?  The prayers I mean.  Like really praying for someone else like we beg for our own needs.

Norman Vincent Peale, well-known in previous generations, loved to inwardly ask blessings on people he saw on walking on the sidewalk as he went about his daily round.  I wish I could remember to do that.

I must admit, I get paid to pray in one of my lines of work as a Chaplain.  Even at the bed-sides I am sometimes aware that I might be the only one praying for this one.  You just never know.

I owe my life to those who were/are the one praying for me.  I can name the ones I know have prayed but would love to know who added their voices on my behalf.  Someone who saw me across a room, stood in line with me at a store, observed my broken behavior on a few occasions and thought “that girl needs a prayer!”  Thank you by the way.

So I resolve again to be “the one praying.”

Buckle up.

2 Responses to “Are you the One praying?”


  1. 1 Lauralea Suess February 21, 2013 at 9:08 PM

    Love this.

    Lauralea


Leave a Reply

