Protect Your Spirit

751630_do_not_enter_signMy children still remind me often of the choices we made for them to “protect their spirits” when they were young. Carefully paying attention to content in movies and TV shows, we attempted to instruct them to guard the gateway to their heart and choose carefully what to let in.  Sometimes we went a bit overboard!

They are on their own now with their choices but I am still discerning how to guard MY heart.  Each day brings a new barrage of information and media to pick from.  What comes in, what stays out?

While I want to stay informed, I know that there are some things that I can’t read if I want to keep a guarded heart.  Headlines in the paper detailing abuse, torture, or sexual exploits do not sit still in my mind but keep me agitated and awake at night, so I avoid those pieces.  Paying attention to guidelines about book and movie content serves me well.  As much as I would like, I can’t always see all the Best Picture nominees.

Your gate-keeper checklist might be different from mine, I’m pretty sensitive.  Funny, my kids are now saying, “This is a great book but don’t read it Mom.”  BTW, “Twilight” was OK, “Hunger Games” wasn’t!

When in doubt about protecting your spirit, ask for help from the Holy Spirit, always available.

Proverbs 4:23  Above all else, guard your heart,  for everything you do flows from it.

0 Responses to “Protect Your Spirit”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

