Answering the Call

phoneA quick peek at the clock…  I should have left ten minutes ago….if traffic is not too bad I won’t be late to work.  Heading out, the phone rings.  Can’t talk NOW.   Just won’t answer it.  Maybe it’s more work, though, I really could use that right nowI’ll just check the Caller ID.   Marjorie.  One of the poor and needy.  Very needy.  Last time she called she wanted me to go to the store, buy her groceries and deliver them.  She’s been laid up a long time with this round of ailments.  Even when well, there was always something she needed.

God will surely understand if I don’t get it this time.  She’ll probably call back.  I don’t have time to get groceries anyway.  It is more important to be a responsible employee and get to work on time. We have a big church, she’ll think of someone else to call.  I’ll call her back when I get home, or maybe tomorrow.  WAIT.  In an instant, my heart was seared.  I answered the phone.

Sure enough, she was out of food and needed someone to go shopping.  Marjorie doesn’t call just to say “hi”.  My mind raced… maybe sometime tomorrow between prayer meeting and my lunch date I could run to the store.  She would just have to wait until I could work this into my schedule.  I was officially late now and had to get off the phone.   All my fumbling attempts to be righteous at my own convenience were not making the grade.  Just then, an idea hit.  The grocery store in the neighborhood, the locally owned one, didn’t someone tell me they delivered phone orders?

“Marjorie, I think Oakdale Market will deliver groceries…No, I don’t think you have to go in but you can call in an order…Do you want me to call and check for you?”

A quick call to confirm and a call-back to Marjorie.  She was ecstatic.   Relieved.  Strengthened.

She thanked my profusely.  Her daily bread was secure once again.    All of a sudden I was a hero.

Bread

Dare I look at the clock again?  God needed just four minutes.  He asked nothing of me other than to pick up that phone and listen for what to do next.  A string of green lights followed and I did get to work on time.

Why am I so afraid every time I say YES to God?  Who told me to expect the worse case scenario when doing God’s will?  Doesn’t the Scripture say,  “And what does the Lord require of you?  To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God? (Micah 6:8)”   I can do that.  This was what I signed up for.  When did I start making it so complicated?

My near-rebuke showed up the next day in my regular readings…  Whew,  glad I took that call.

Proverbs 21:13  Whoever shuts their ears to the cry of the poor will also cry out and not be answered.

I touched the fringe of a new level of trust that afternoon.  Trust to not be afraid to listen, to act, to watch my straw turn into gold.  O Father, I hope I got it this time!

2 Responses to “Answering the Call”


  1. 1 Lauralea Suess March 21, 2013 at 5:28 PM

    Amen sista, I really appreciate your honesty in sharing that story with us.


Leave a Reply

