Leaving Lent

1293065_torn_cross_4The pressing question of what kind of Easter candy to get my grandchildren faded as I focused on imprinting this moment deep enough to carry through the year.

My friend and I waited in silence at a nearby monastery until the somber Tennebrae  service* began and took our turns sitting and rising as we chanted our prayers and Psalms for about an hour.   The bustle of home felt continents away.

Lent is soon over and taking with it all the add-ons, give-ups and special services. I know I have touched a new level of “getting” Jesus these 40 days and I don’t want to return to same-old, same-old.

Believe me, I have plenty of other rituals to aid my spiritual centering but the Lenten ones seem to take me to deeper places.  Crazy as it sounds, I will miss them in spite of what seemed like such an effort six weeks ago.

Just this morning, I ran into a colleague on the 4th floor of the hospital and she was clearly out of breath.  “Two more days of doing the stairs then Lent is over” was her explanation for her gasping.  Yet she too spoke of lamenting how she would be back to the elevators  soon.

Meanwhile, I am longing for my Good Friday service tonight at church and looking forward to my final Lenten readings tomorrow.  I want to squeeze the last dregs of what Lent has to offer.

Hope for the Best,

Tish

*  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tenebrae)

0 Responses to “Leaving Lent”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

