Laugh today! It is April 1

LaughingWe couldn’t wait for April 1 to see what kind of tricks our Mom might pull on our Dad.  Once a year she would shed her normal “focused, get-it-done, don’t-mess-around” persona and turn into a quite a prankster.

Switching the sugar and salt in their containers was a favorite.  Masking tea (something my Dad detested) into a coffee appearance or perhaps adding a layer of cotton to his egg sandwich were all possibilities.  We were never the target of her antics, only Dad.  My brothers and I loved watching his reaction and he never seemed to mind.

I think I am too concrete for April Fool jokes but one year I did pick up my daughter from school and told her she had a doctor’s appointment and took her out for ice cream instead.  I was proud of myself for coming up with the idea J

The BBC has pulled off some April Fool pranks including in 1957 airing a video of Swiss families harvesting “spaghetti trees” which resulted in many viewer calls asking how to grow their own.  In 1976 a BBC astronomer reported that at 9:47 AM, Pluto and Jupiter would align and create such a gravitational effect that those who jumped at that very moment would float.  Jumpers abounded!

I probably won’t pull any pranks today but I do know laughter lightens our loads.

“Through humor, you can soften some of the worst blows that life delivers.  And once you find laughter, no matter how painful your situation is, you can survive it.”  Bill Cosby.

2 Responses to “Laugh today! It is April 1”


  1. 1 Jan Peterson April 1, 2013 at 5:10 PM

    My best April Fools joke was when I was teaching fifth grade. The kids in my class were in on it. The day before April Fools, we made all sorts of Christmas Decorations. After most everyone had gone home, I stayed behind to decorate the main bulletin board near the office with all those Christmas decorations. It was a riot to see it slowly dawn on kids and adults that there were Christmas decorations up again!


Leave a Reply

