Remind me!

ReminderYears ago when I was trying to remember to pray for a couple of friends, I decided to remember them every time I used an electric hand-dryer in a public restroom.  Crazy, but it worked!  I could go for weeks without ever thinking about them and as soon as I used one of those dryers (which I really don’t like!), the prayers started flowing.  Their situation has long passed but my need for hand-dryers hasn’t so I kept it up.

I used the same reminder tactic when some friends were in desperate straits.  They drove a white car so when I was paying attention and noticed a white car, I prayed for them. As much as I wanted to believe I would remember without the prompt, I don’t know if I would have.

White car 2

Gretchen Rubin of  “The Happiness Project”(http://amzn.to/Y0yqiS) talks about using the time it takes her computer to wake up in the morning to cultivate gratitude by thinking “grateful thoughts.”  I was pleased to see I wasn’t the only one who needed a “system” to do the important.

I knew someone who used “STOP” signs to remind her of something she wanted to stop doing in her life.  Most of us could find something we would like to stop!

STOP

I used to wish I could just remember everything now I am enjoying the benefit of not trying so hard!

Have you ever used an external reminder to prompt you of an internal action?

Hope for the best,

Tish

2 Responses to “Remind me!”


  1. 1 Melanie Rigney April 5, 2013 at 8:02 AM

    What great ways to remember the people in our prayer cups! Thanks, Tish!


Leave a Reply

