The Reluctant Garden-ess

Blog 2013 001The third day of beautiful weather is here and I still haven’t managed to finish planting my Mother’s Day flowers.

Let me just say it:  I love A garden but can’t seem TO garden.

In February I am always the best of gardeners.  In my imagination fragrant flowers bloom in several spots of my manicured lawn, I wander out daily to pick the ripe produce to add to my dinner menu, flowering bushes grace our fences and the city of Evanston is begging me to enter the annual garden walk.  So not even close!

I feel the pressure mounting as I see my neighbors’ plots all ready to go and view regular Facebook posts about the gleeful gardening going on.  Soon my panic will overflow and I will make a Home Depot raid and tote home whatever is on sale and quickly get it in the ground and flower boxes (somewhat haphazardly.)

Last year the rabbits took the first crop and there was the year that someone STOLE all my tomatoes (true story) so you can see why I am dragging on this, right?

Honestly, once its done, the maintenance part is fine with me and I discovered mulch is great for avoiding weeding.  I know how to hold a hose and water, if anything survives, that is.  Picking flowers and gathering tomatoes I am good at.

Most of my novel heroines garden and love it.  I want so much to transform into a garden-ess but looks like it’s not going to happen this year either.  I am waiting for my English gardener to bicycle up and get to work, at least that’s what happens in the books.

If you see him in the neighborhood, please send him over!

Planting

Waiting for the gardener

2 Responses to “The Reluctant Garden-ess”


  1. 1 Carol Early Cooney May 16, 2013 at 6:11 PM

    When he gets to your house, send him over here. This wasn’t supposed to happen fast, was it?

  2. 2 Letitia Suk May 16, 2013 at 8:02 PM

    I’m sure he will show up anytime with garden tools in the basket ready to work!


Leave a Reply

