Missing My Sister

921894_sistersI’m quick to notice when someone makes a reference to “my sister.”  Two words I have never been able to say.

My daughters are sisters, my Mom has sisters as do my two daughters-in-law.  Most of my girlfriends have sisters, and so do my friends on the block.  Just about everyone does.  Not me.

I listen longingly to accounts of what “my sister and I” did or said to each other or laughed about.  Like a not-so-secret-club I wanted so much to join but lacked the entrance requirements.

In my childhood years I created them.  Instead of imaginary friends, I designed imaginary sisters.  My Mom always had a Sears catalog lying around so I cut out the models I wanted to live in my family and gave them all names.  Of course, I changed their names often and they always wanted to play along with my grand schemes:)

My Mom liked to point out advantages of being the “only girl” and she was often right.  No need to share anything and first dibs on everything in the female department.  I think she felt responsible.

I am a sister to my brothers but that is not the same.  They have provided me with fabulous sisters-in-law as has my husband but no one shares that elusive bond that I observe in most of you.

Then there is all that kitschie “sister” stuff like plaques, greeting cards and figurines.  Not usually my taste but I think I might find room for some if my sister bought it for me.

OK so maybe we would argue or get mad at each other or decide Mom liked the other one better but at the end of the day I would still have a sister.

If you are lucky enough to have one, give her a call and a hug.

001My daughters circa 1988

Hope for the best,

Tish

6 Responses to “Missing My Sister”


  1. 1 Christa Suk June 13, 2013 at 4:12 PM

    Such a cuter picture than the dolls!

  2. 3 Patty M. June 13, 2013 at 9:49 PM

    Sisters-wow you tackled a bid one. . I ONLY have sisters and one is learning disabled with lots of medical issues and she lives with us. When I count my blessings I count my sisters at the top of the list but—–then—- I count my dearest girlfriends as my sisters as well. Sisterhood is a relationship-not a blood linage-similiar to to adoption. I have many adopted sisters! My definition of a sister is a woman who loves you to death-sometimes related by blood, some times by choice.

  3. 5 Jennifer Schuman June 19, 2013 at 9:35 AM

    Tish, thank you for the reminder to better value my six sisters today. I also need to help our young daughters enjoy one another instead of arguing over toys and what is and isn’t fair… I’m off to send a few notes cards out with tears in my eyes – thanks for encouraging me to cherish my many blessings!


Leave a Reply

