Found Any Love Notes Lately? *

581989_sealed“Look what I found,” he laughed.

A yellowed half-sheet of paper with visible tape marks left from the original posting showed up after a day of household projects.  My name was in caps on the top.  Not exactly a “love note” as this came in our, we’re-just-friends era, but priceless just the same.

My junior year college dorm room was the address.  Just three sentences comprised the message, one of them mentioning prayer. The closing was good… “Call me at 11:35.  Kind of an odd time, don’t you think?  I am wondering if it was A.M. or P.M.  I’m sure I watched the clock until time to make that call!

Back in the day, I scooped up any scrap of paper that held my now-husband’s handwriting and stored it away.  What started as info-messages like this one grew into a sharing of the heart and then hopes for the future.  I still have them all.

Blog 2013 001

I’m not sure how this one got separated from the pack in the top of my closet but it survived a few moves and more than 40 years all by itself.  I’m still enjoying re-reading it as the memories of early love flooded back with that note.

To be sure, I still get love notes but usually in texts and occasionally emails. Maybe I will remember to save one now and then but it is not the same.  In a marriage relationship where conversation is constant, love assumed, and technology at our fingertips, writing of notes is often a lost art.

So my advice to myself and you today is to write a few words to the one you love in your own handwriting.  Could be a piece of paper or card but it might be saved and re-read tomorrow or in 40 years of tomorrows.  I think you will be glad you did.

Hope for the Best,

Tish

* I am celebrating my 40th anniversary (August 18, 1973) all year and will be sharing a few things I have learned along the way on most Mondays.

3 Responses to “Found Any Love Notes Lately? *”


  1. 1 lauralea July 8, 2013 at 8:30 PM

    LOVELY!

  2. 2 Franci July 10, 2013 at 1:40 PM

    Every once in a while I write a note in a shared journal and put it in Bruce’s suitcase for him to find when he’s out of town on business. He then writes back and gives it to me when he gets home. I think it’s time to find that journal and put it into suitcase again. Thanks for the reminder!


Leave a Reply

