Surfer Girl Here

373847_surfboardThe soundtrack of my summer is always the Beach Boys.  Back in the 60’s they packed out the Illinois State Fair grandstand and I never missed a concert.  My grandpa had some political connections that  resulted in me getting a ticket each year even if the stands were sold out.

Before long, the Boys moved on from the State Fair and so did I.  Of course, I still listened to the records, then the tapes and now the CD’s and I Tunes. A disc sits in my kitchen today.

About ten years ago they started coming to Ravinia, our lovely outdoor music festival, summer home to the Chicago Symphony.  I couldn’t wait to hear them again, especially my favorite, I Get Around.

It was hard to find anyone under 50 or at least 40 in that crowd.  I was looking for teenagers and at one point had only counted about eight.  Only one of the original Beach Boys was still with the group but the summer sound was the same.

I walked up as close as I could and all around me were the most prim and proper North Shore ladies who looked like they stepped right out of bridge club, bouncing to the music.  We all sang along with every song.  “Help me Rhonda” blasted the place!   I loved the  commonality of experience that night than transcended all of our circumstances.

I wondered how many of these “older” Ravinia-goers had also listened to this music on their transistor radios, in their Fords and Chevys and on their record players as I did.  All of us had hopes and dreams that somehow these songs played into.  How did their lives turn out based on those poignant longings? How did mine turn out?

734047_surf_1

Later in the same week, my husband drove me to an unplanned medical appointment and told me he had a message for me and turned on the music…  “Don’t Worry Baby” was playing, one of my favorite BB songs.  He had checked it out from the library for this event.  Such love.

I still go to Beach Boys concerts when I get a chance although I will miss Brian Wilson later this summer at Ravinia.  We’re growing older each year but they are still “The Boys” and I am still 15 for that evening.

Who was the Surfer Girl?  I think she was all of us.

Hope for the Best,

Tish

4 Responses to “Surfer Girl Here”


  1. 1 Lauralea Suess July 15, 2013 at 8:37 PM

    After reading this post, I created a new pandora beach boys station and am enjoying right this minute!

  2. 3 bronx51 July 16, 2013 at 7:49 AM

    The same thing happens to me when I (rarely but occasionally) hear “Duke of Earl” on the radio.


Leave a Reply

