Feelin’ a Nudge?

Go!Last week my daughter sent me a link to a camera that was just what I was looking for.  The price was right and I had the $.  I even felt a sense of “just do it” but I didn’t.  Later that day when I came back to it, the deal was gone.

Apparently no lesson learned because yesterday I was shopping rental cars and found a great deal and once again hesitated.  The same car was $350 dollars MORE by late afternoon.

Sometimes the nudge comes to call someone, send an email, or walk across the room to say hi.  Almost always satisfying when I follow the instinct but many times I don’t.  Yesterday I reconnected with an old acquaintance while at the library by following a nudge but missed another one this morning by waiting too long.

Sometimes the window stays open for a bit but some nudges are a one-time-opportunity.  I remember the ones I missed, often with regret.  The sweet neighbor who moved away before I got around to inviting her over, the writing opportunity I never finished, the patient who died before I came back for a visit.  You might have some stories too.

Of course, some nudges that I did follow turned out to have amazing results like volunteering at my church’s food pantry and some ideas were truly duds but nothing ventured, nothing gained.

So I am resolving as of today to keep the antenna up, listen for the still voice of the Holy Spirit, trust my years of experience and act quickly.

Maybe you’re feeling a nudge today?  Ready to respond?

Hope for the Best,

Tish

PS  Would love for you to subscribe with the box on the top right, thanks!

5 Responses to “Feelin’ a Nudge?”


  1. 1 Jane Rubietta July 18, 2013 at 3:53 PM

    Hi, Tish!

    I don’t have a box on my top right of the post you sent!

    BUT I loved the post. Thanks!

    Love Jane     Jane Rubietta http://www.JaneRubietta.com 847-223-4790   NOW on e-book: QUIET PLACES: A Woman’s Guide to Personal Retreat Jane’s bestselling book is now available for your Kindle! Used in thousands of groups around the world, Quiet Places will help draw you into the arms of Christ. More resources at www.JaneRubietta.com

    ________________________________

  2. 2 Franci July 18, 2013 at 4:28 PM

    Often when I feel a nudge, it’s a name that comes to mind. Sometimes I hear the name over and over. Sometimes I wake from a sound sleep with the name in my mind. My usual response is to pray. I try to pray until the name stops running around my brain. I can’t say that I’ve ever found out why I was supposed to pray for that person, but it doesn’t really matter. God knows their need. I feel privileged when He asks me to intercede.

  3. 4 lauralea July 19, 2013 at 3:58 PM

    I like this especially because it makes life immensely more adventurous and satisfying to be listening and responding to the nudges. Thanks for the reminder.


Leave a Reply

