10 (Satisfying) Things to Slip In before Breakfast

As you might have guessed, I am a morning person.  Not so in the beginning.  In fact, my Mom signed me up for afternoon kindergarten just so I could sleep in even though all my 5-year-old friends were going in the morning.

Maybe it was the pre-dawn antics of my kids that re-programmed me but I move fast in the morning and like a hot air balloon with a leak, slowly sink as the day moves along.  I use the time for a lot of things and in case you’re wondering what could possibly be so satisfying, here are 10 things to try:

  • Watch the sun come up.  Definitely not able to be rescheduled for later in the day!

Tish's I Phone photos 009

  • Write a book.  John Grisham wrote his first book, “A Time to Kill” by getting up at 5 AM for three years before heading off to work. Artists/Musicians and other creatives, this may be your best time too.
  • Move your photos from your camera to your computer to an album.  Not just in one morning of course but a steady commitment of about 20 minutes a day will result in a great project.
  • Walk/Run/Move.  Best accomplished by not doing anything else first.  Lay your workout clothes out and get into them first thing.

Morning Walk 6Early morning lake view

  • Focus on your fun emails.  Not the work ones but the ones you always want to get around to.  Writing handwritten notes is also very satisfying!
  • Plan your breakfast and take time to prepare it just the way you like it.

1231823_breakfast_in_the_sun

  • Sit in silence or your favorite background music and pray/meditate/listen for the still small voice.
  • Read a chapter of the book you know is so good for you.
  • Start planning your next vacation.

And MORE!  BTW, a pre-breakfast snack of tea & toast is perfectly acceptable 🙂

Hope for the Best,

Tish

PS  Would love for you to subscribe with the box on the top right, thanks!

4 Responses to “10 (Satisfying) Things to Slip In before Breakfast”


  1. 1 Tara July 25, 2013 at 4:43 PM

    I love this! I am a morning girl. I can only run if I do it first thing. But I am going to consider dealing with scrapbooking this way- very clever idea, I have been procrastinating too long.

  2. 3 Melanie Rigney July 26, 2013 at 5:57 AM

    I am so with you! My dad used to yell at all of us, “You’re turning night into day and day into night!” None of us kids or Mom would get out of bed before 10 a.m. if we had any choice whatsoever. A job change at 26 required me to get up at 5… and I never looked back. I generally get up at 5:30 now, but the past week or so, it’s been 4, which has been wonderful as I have been getting so much work on my book marketing and other catch-up stuff done. There’s no way I’d get as much done at 8 p.m.; brain just doesn’t work as well then.


Leave a Reply

