Food Evangelists

Blog 2013 001I’m confused. As a woman of a certain age, I have long ago lost the ability to eat whatever with no consequences.  Recently, an “opportunity” came up to change my food patterns for better health but the clamor of “pick me!, pick me!” from the food evangelist hawkers is spinning me around like a tilt-a-whirl.

Who will be my new MD BFF?  Dr. Weil or Dr. Oz?  The South Beach cheering section are all waving their pom-poms and the Vegan devotees are convinced they hold the truth.

Blog 2013 002

Doc Google has me really scratching my head as every study I read seems to have contradictory information about what the body REALLY needs to function best.

I know that all (or most) of the food plans work for somebody but I want to know what will work for ME.  A friend of mine used to say she ate Atkins in the morning and Weight Watchers at night or maybe I have that reversed.  When I tried that, I gained 5 pounds right away.

I like the Mediterranean diet but then again, maybe I should eat for my blood type based on another popular book.  Doesn’t help that each week’s best seller list seems to have a new variation on this theme.

Blog 2013 003

While the idea of dropping a few is always an agenda item, eating for optimum health has risen to the top of my list.  If I only knew what that was….  Even my  morning ritual of tea and toast is suspect:  Caffeine and carbs.

Then there is the concept of pro-biotics, or do I actually need an anti-biotic or maybe an anti-acid?  HELP!

When I can’t take the tugging on my mind any longer, I come back to the simple words of Jesus…

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothes? Matthew 6:25

Even when I’m not worried I am still wondering…

How do you decide?

Hope for the best,

Tish

13 Responses to “Food Evangelists”


  1. 1 Carol Early Cooney August 27, 2013 at 7:53 AM

    I agree! It is all too confusing. I guess the best idea may be to try and eat as naturally as possible. (If only I did that, I would let you know if it worked..)

  2. 3 My Peace Of Food (@MyPeaceOfFood) August 27, 2013 at 8:45 AM

    I just tweeted about my breakfast dilemma this morning. I know I need something healthier than toast and a latte, but at 5 o’clock in the morning I can’t really stomach the thought of eggs with feta or spinach and turkey bacon. I think in part you have to know thyself. If I haven’t changed my breakfast in the past 3 years…I probably won’t change my breakfast. At least not now!

  3. 5 Debbie Djuric August 27, 2013 at 9:45 AM

    Ahhh…. Such sound, basic and true “actually works” advice. Thanks.

  4. 7 basilrose August 27, 2013 at 2:15 PM

    the more i read, the more I have been concluding that the mediterranean food plan is the way to go. I have tried vegan, paleo and vegetarian and they’re too restrictive in spite of how they brag about results….feeling satisfied and happy AND healthy are my goals…:)

  5. 9 Rebecca August 27, 2013 at 2:34 PM

    Trying to live by a simple rule – any time I eat something, I have to add a fruit or veggie, and moderation in everything else.

  6. 11 basilrose August 27, 2013 at 8:29 PM

    I like that too!!

  7. 12 Judy A. Slagle August 28, 2013 at 10:29 PM

    Tish,, You are soo right about this. Just when you think you have it down and you are eating healthy …..they go and change it on you!! My husband and I have been vegetarians for years now, however our diets keep evolving (or maybe devolving I am not sure 🙂 We started out Vegan, then went pescatarian, after a while we added back some cheese and eggs when the kids arrived and all they served at birthday parties were cheese pizzas. Recently my husband has been having some health issues and he decided to give up bread (gluten free diet) and night shades because of inflamation issues. After seeing a Chinese herbalist he has been put on a special diet and drinking foul smelling teas. Now he doesn’t eat any onions, garlic or peppers! How do you cook without onions, garlic and peppers!!!! It is crazy! I am almost ready to give up.

    I have come to the conclusion that basically fresh nonprocessed foods prepared simply are best. Nothing really new here. Splurge once in a while on your fav’s so you don’t feel so cheated and too restricted. It has to be a whole lifestyle change and not just a temporary “diet”. Eat lots of veggies, enough protein and go out and get some exercise. I feel that is the key when trying to be healthy and loose weight. Find some sort of activity that you enjoy and do it 3x a week. I bet you will see and feel the difference. My best to you, Judy


Leave a Reply

