The September Shift

BridgeAs you might have guessed, I need some sort of ritual to cross from one season to the next.  If I were Jewish, I would be celebrating Rosh Hashanah soon as an official new year begins.  Feasting and toasting and special prayers seem fitting for the transition to the “fullness of fall” most of us are feeling.

Yesterday I took my annual “Let’s Get Serious about the Fall” planning day at the Chicago Botanic Garden to regroup, set plans in motion and pray about the question always on the table, “What’s next?”  I tend to think more clearly when surrounded by beauty and nature instead of my to-do projects.

As a lover of lists, I was eager to just start my to-do lists for the new season but the bigger picture attracted me more as I meandered through the walkways,  stopping at a bench now and then.  You might want to ask these questions too:

  • What do I sense this autumn is about?
  • Where do I need to stretch and reach?
  • What ONE thing do I want to add?
  • What am I most looking forward to?
  • What is Jesus wanting to say to me now?

By the end of the time, I crossed the bridge back from “Spider Island” and in so doing, seemed to cross the bridge from summer to fall.

Botanic garden 9-4-13Chicago Botanic Garden

Don’t worry, I am still eating outside on my summer dishes for a few more weeks but inside the shift is starting.

And you?

Happy New Year!

4 Responses to “The September Shift”


  1. 1 Melissa Moskowitz September 6, 2016 at 9:19 AM

    This is one of the reasons we resonate so well with each other as friends. When I want to plan or think about direction for my life, I go to the Getty. I find different places to walk or sit or look and it helps me to re-group and settle my thoughts.

  2. 3 Marya Outterson September 15, 2016 at 7:56 PM

    Thank you! These questions were so helpful when I went on a mini-retreat this week to reflect on new possibilities. The following question surfaced as I was listening, pondering #5. “What gift would I especially appreciate from Jesus in this coming season?”


Leave a Reply

