Five-Minute Tasks for Busy People

670765_tickerOne of the first blog posts I wrote was “How to Change Your Life in 20 Minutes.” http://wp.me/pPRDV-3o  I still use my timers all the time for 20 minute bursts but was often stalling on shorter tasks thinking they would take too much time.

I decided to try a little experiment  to see how long a few chores really took  and was quite amazed by how much can get done in just 5 minutes!  In fact, many little 5 minute tasks can be strewn throughout the day without even noticing the time-lapse.

12 mini-household tasks that are always 5 minutes or less for me:

  1. Unload the dishwasher.
  2. Start a load of laundry.
  3. Vacuum one room.
  4. Wipe down microwave.
  5. Windex the bathroom and bedroom mirrors.
  6. Clean trash out of the car.
  7. Grab any visible cobwebs with a broom.
  8. Dust all the picture frames. (I have a lot!)
  9. Sew a button on.
  10. Set a nice dinner table.
  11. Get all the receipts out of your purse.
  12. Gather up old newspapers & magazines to recycle.

Just think, in about one hour you could get all this done!  But you probably don’t have the hour, right?  Try a little game with yourself and see how many of these items you can get done on the fringes of your schedule.

I would love to hear your 5 minute ideas in the comments section!

Hope for the Best,

Tish

4 Responses to “Five-Minute Tasks for Busy People”


  1. 1 Debbie McKenzie October 3, 2013 at 7:10 PM

    Great reminders, Tish! My addition regards cleaning out the fridge before garbage day (or any day you want to get it done!) It seems I can never accomplish it in one shot, so I grab just a couple minutes here and there throughout the day and do it section by section – grab a couple expired items, empty out a container or two, wipe a shelf, etc. By the evening I usually have it done!

  2. 3 Tara October 4, 2013 at 5:10 AM

    Take out the garbage and recycling, unpack the kids pack backs and sign homework folders, change the sheets on one bed. I love this Tish! It seems like a lot of my day falls into five minute segments.


Leave a Reply

