Could You Just Page Me, God?

text-pager-122825-m“We need you ASAP” was the message on my chaplain pager as I was about to end my shift.  I was on my way home after spending the day covering two hospitals and had managed to see just about everyone on the list.  Encouragement offered, prayers said, documentation done.   Time to go home.

So I went back.  My tidy little plan for that next hour never got crossed off my list that day.  A higher plot was showing up in the story and without the page I would have missed it.

I wish all of God’s directions for me could come in the form of pages like that.  Wouldn’t it be nice to wear a “God-pager” that told you exactly what the next step was or where to show up for service or who needed you or your prayers RIGHT NOW.

OK, I know we can listen for the “still small voice” and get a lot of info and direction but a pager would be so clear.  Sometimes my hearing is quite fuzzy.

Some of the pages I would like to get would include:

  • Don’t worry about that situation, I’ve got it covered.
  • The 4th publisher is going to say yes to your proposal.
  • I’ve got someone I want you to meet at the grocery store today.
  • Pray harder for your friend, she is going through a tough time but isn’t talking about it.
  • Don’t buy those pants, they are going on sale next week.
  • I love you, you’ll feel better soon.
  • Leave a little early, there is a lot of traffic.

What would you like to see on your pager?

Hope for the best,

Tish

6 Responses to “Could You Just Page Me, God?”


  1. 1 Jane Rubietta October 7, 2013 at 4:15 PM

    Tish this makes me smile. Love your writing!

    Is there a publisher looking at your proposal right now?

    And did the pants go on sale?

    Love Jane

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. 3 Judy W October 7, 2013 at 9:44 PM

    love this! esp. the one to pray for a friend who isn’t saying anything about her struggle – all too often I’m guessing we should be doing that!

  3. 5 basilrose October 9, 2013 at 6:14 PM

    this is really creative, funny and something we can ALL relate to!! How many times, I have asked for the same direct line!


Leave a Reply

