Store Closing

shopping-cart-346602-mI popped in to my local Dominick’s grocery today and wondered how many more times I would be making this trip.  Last week’s news announcement was that all the stores are closing in the Chicago area by early 2014.

My first thought on hearing the news was how it would affect ME, such a puny perspective.  I have lots of grocery stores to choose from as do all my neighbors so while the impact will be felt, it will be one of mostly inconvenience.  Like when you are ten minutes late because traffic slowed down due to an accident.  So easy to moan until you realize the car crashed on the side of the road could have been yours.

I was in a hurry (as usual) but decided to take a moment to ask the clerk how she and the other employees were doing with the news.  Not well.  Sometimes with store merges at least some of the employees get to keep their jobs but this is not a merge so all jobs will be gone…in just a few months.  I can’t imagine. She mentioned twice how grateful all the employees were that some shoppers were asking about it.

I think it was the most authentic conversation I have ever had with any of the employees since the store opened many years ago.  So wished it was on a different topic. I regret spending all these years just talking about my groceries and the weather.

She did ask one thing of me, a simple request…keep coming until the end.  Guess if customers start bailing too soon, layoffs could start earlier.

So many people pass through our lives to serve us and we barely notice.

So I will keep coming and try to cram in a couple of decades of brief meaningful conversation in a couple of months.   Or at least say thank you.

Hope for the best,

Tish

8 Responses to “Store Closing”


  1. 1 Jane Rubietta October 14, 2013 at 4:35 PM

    TISH. Challenging AS ALWAYS. Thank you. Miss you. Wishing for a quarter birthday but not gonna happen in Oct. :/

    Love Jane     Jane Rubietta http://www.JaneRubietta.com 847-223-4790   NOW on e-book: QUIET PLACES: A Woman’s Guide to Personal Retreat Jane’s bestselling book is now available for your Kindle! Used in thousands of groups around the world, Quiet Places will help draw you into the arms of Christ. More resources at www.JaneRubietta.com

    ________________________________

  2. 3 Judy W October 14, 2013 at 6:35 PM

    Lost my job when a store closed after 31 years working there – I think one person was picked up by the company that moved in to the location. Still looking for work after 2 years. Thanked a clerk today in a grocery store for going out of her way to help an elderly woman work out the price of a 99 cent item instead of complaining that I had to wait an extra couple minutes while she did so. So important to thank those that serve us – while we can.

  3. 5 basilrose October 14, 2013 at 10:32 PM

    this is important for me to remember. thanks for the reminder Tish.

  4. 7 Jill Richardson October 15, 2013 at 9:13 AM

    I only shop there once in a while, but I will be sure to for the next month. Thank you for the thoughtfulness.


Leave a Reply

