10 Other Commandments

holy-canvas-1127922-mI think it’s accurate to say I am not much of a grumbler …except when I am cold, don’t feel well, have to stretch my low technological limits or other situations that might call for it. That’s OK, right?  I thought so too until I ran into one of the other commandments.

Do everything without grumbling or arguing (Philippians 2:14.)

Last year I wrote a post about the hardest commandment, Don’t be Anxious (http://wp.me/pPRDV-gH)  I still agree with my earlier assessment of that one being the hardest commandment but I have noticed a few more nominees for the award.

Here are 9 more for your consideration:

  1. Do everything without grumbling or arguing (Philippians 2:14.) I definitely fail on the “everything” part. 
  2. Rejoice always (1 Thess. 5:16) …maybe often?
  3. Pray continually (1 Thess. 5:17).  I think I have this one covered some of the time
  4. Give thanks in all circumstances (1 Thess 5:18).  How about the ones I like?
  5. Be patient in affliction (Romans 12:12) Nope, not yet.
  6. If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone. (Romans 12:18) Two disclaimers on this one, whew!
  7. Do not judge (Jesus)  Ever?
  8. Consider it pure joy whenever you face trials of many kinds. (James 1:3) Really??
  9. Do Not be Afraid (all over the Bible.)  I think we need a reminder of this one the most, don’t you?

I do believe there are a few more in the Book but working on these will keep me busy.

BTW…The commandment I am really glad about is…

Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. (1 Peter 4:8)

Hope for the best,

Tish

PS  If you are not yet a subscriber, please click the box on the right top, thanks!

2 Responses to “10 Other Commandments”


  1. 1 Mary Nelson November 26, 2013 at 5:59 PM

    Tish, this is Mary again. I was wondering about a big favor. I have so enjoyed your planning posts, and I am already filling in next year, but I need the intentionality that you have offered me since July. Is there any way you could send me the posts on how you start planning your new year through July. I have the rest. Is that possible? You are a gift to me as I am sure others appreciate. I have lots of things in place but am missing some fun stuff that I value you having implemented. Maybe when I implement and talk about them, I could suggest having you up!


Leave a Reply

