Let There Be Little White Lights!

Little lights

While I love summer and long evenings of sunlight. I also really enjoy the coziness of the early darkness in November. A bit of a paradox, right?

One of my rituals this time of year involves little white lights, the kind one definitely associates with Christmas trees.  At the advent of summer, I hang a few strands of those darling lights on my patio and enjoy them most evenings until the chill hits.  I always call them my “party” lights even if it is just a party of one-me. Although I rarely turn them on once October hits, I can’t bear to take them down until the first day of standard time shows up.

On that same day those get packed up, an inside strand goes up in my dining room.  I call them, the “Winter Lights” and they stay up until daylight savings time resumes.  Somehow all feels well in at least one part of my world when little white lights are glowing.

The rhythm of lights comes with a long legacy starting in Genesis.  I don’t view my strands going up and down as a religious symbol but like most rituals, a spiritual spill-over seems to occur.  Surroundings do set the stage for even the “little” events of life.

If you’re not ready with the Christmas lights yet, you get the same effect with candles. Most meals at our table, including the ones I eat alone, are enhanced by the flickering glow.  My observation is that dinners last longer and conversations go deeper with candlelight.  Agree?

Next month, strings of lights will be all over the house but starting tonight, I am enjoying the simple pleasure of a single strand.

Hope for the best,

Tish

PS:  One of you is going to be the 10,000th reader of my blog.  I am so honored that you invited me in for a few minutes.  Thank you.

6 Responses to “Let There Be Little White Lights!”


  1. 1 Abby November 5, 2013 at 1:12 AM

    Jeff has always teased me that we were destined to become friends because of your lights, which I love too. It appears that I’ve passed that along to my daughter. Regardless, I didn’t know about the candles. They light every meal we eat too.

  2. 3 Cindy Wiewel November 5, 2013 at 7:16 AM

    Love this idea. This is my dreaded week because I love sunshine.
    Brillant thinking!

  3. 5 Karen Burke November 5, 2013 at 12:25 PM

    YES! I strung up lights in our living room…but some kids were distracted by them…other teens thought they looked “ghetto”. But once the sun started going down early, I started lighting candles. I keep them lit through the evening. Candlelight is soothing…and I find that even if my house is a MESS, in candle light, if the table is clear…all is well.


Leave a Reply

