Rhythms of Re-Reading

GoodReads Image

GoodReads Image

I am so looking forward to going to crawling into bed this month because I am re-reading my favorite book series:   The Betsy-Tacy books http://wp.me/pPRDV-8x. Actually, I am re-reading the last eight books in the series as I am reading the early volumes to my granddaughter when she sleeps over.  The familiar stories wrap me up like a warm blanket on a chilly night.  January is a perfect time for an old familiar friend.

When I finish with Betsy, I’m going to pick up a Rosamund Pilcher book I haven’t read in years, Winter Solstice and by then I will be ready to move on to the new pile of delicious books waiting on my shelf. So many enticing covers!

During Lent I usually re-read a devotional and do the same during Advent. The Bible is also an annual re-read but I am listening to it this year on YouVersion which is a whole different experience.

My summer morning re-reading is always a Madeleine L’Engle non-fiction but I read new-to-me books in the evening.   Usually I cram a lot of new titles into the fall then stop in December to re-read favorite Christmas stories.  Each year I have a “Twelve Days of Christmas” popcorn type of novel to entertain me during the celebration then back to the start again with a January re-read.

Like watching a favorite movie all over again, each time the reading experience multiplies by all the previous ones. I highly recommend it.

I’m thinking about Gone with the Wind for next January but that is a big commitment!

Do you re-read favorites?

2 Responses to “Rhythms of Re-Reading”


  1. 1 Melanie Rigney January 20, 2014 at 3:44 PM

    Re-reading brings the joy of the past memories, and also of new discovery. I’m re-reading Evelyn Underhill’s The Spiritual Life right now, and drinking in wisdom I missed in previous readings. Betsy Was a Junior is a special favorite re-read, along with Little Women and Girl of the Limberlost. Sigh. I need to go get one of them out now!


Leave a Reply

