Roses for Strangers

rose-699099-mMay Day always intrigues me with its many and diverse origins of celebrations. Origins of May Day My favorite one is that once upon a time it was the first day of Summer in some cultures!

I always associate flowers with the day and there is some old tradition of leaving baskets of flowers on neighbor’s doors and ringing the bell but running off so as to surprise them when they answered the door. I seem to remember trying that once.

A few years ago, I decided to create a ritual of celebrating which meshed my love of flowers, surprise gifts, and meeting strangers. Each year I do it a little differently but the basic M.O. is to give three roses to three strangers.

I start at a large grocery stores which sell flowers and ask that each rose be wrapped individually with some greenery in nice paper. Sometimes I get three different colors. Then I start driving…side streets are the best. As I cruise the streets I pray for the right person to show up on the sidewalk. Then the fun begins!

When I spot someone who looks like the designated recipient, I might park the car and do a walk-up gifting or sometimes a drive-by works just fine and I hand the rose out the window. My greeting is simple, “Happy May Day! I hope this brightens your day. Blessings!” and off I go. I keep going until all three roses are in someone else’s hand and then I go home and plant some flowers for myself.

Of course, like most giving, I seem to get the best gift when I see the surprised smile.

Want to try? Let me know how it goes!

Hope for the best,

Tish

For more on the delights of May: May: Summer’s Overture

1 Response to “Roses for Strangers”


  1. 1 Mary Nelson April 30, 2014 at 11:48 AM

    I like the idea Tish, and I want to do something kind right now!! Thank you.


Leave a Reply

