Winter Book Report

loadsa-books-437783-mI still wore a hat on my early walk this morning but the all the dandelions are  announcing spring so I’m wrapping up my winter book list. The delight of a book at the end of another cold day was especially sweet this polar season.

Here are a half a dozen highlights:

1)     The whole Betsy-Tacy series which got its own blog post Rhythms of Rereading I will return to this again in a few years.

2)     Redeeming Grace by Walt Tanneburg I only read this on the treadmill on my Kindle and got lots of miles as I always wanted to start one more chapter. Very riveting political thriller with a faith angle. Redeeming Grace

3)     Listening for Madeleine: A Portrait of Madeleine L’Engle in Many Voices: Leonard Marcus I so enjoyed hearing different dimensions of one of my beloved authors from many who knew her. Listening for Madeleine

4)     Return to Me: Lynn Austin. Another fabulous read from one of my favorites. Captivating story of the returning Jews to Jerusalem. I have read the Biblical account many times but now I feel like I got to go inside the story and learn the intricacies of the time through the lens of her characters. Return to Me

5)     Fallen Women: Sandra Dallas I read anything with Sandra Dallas’ name on it and zipped right through this one too. Really enjoy her historical novels. Fallen Women

6)     Stella Bain: Anita Shreve  This book fascinated me because of the WW1 setting. Rich characters and compelling story. Stella Bain

I’m keeping company with The Book Thief  these days after three people highly recommended it.  I’ll let you know how it is when I finish in a month or so, it is long! The Book Thief

Hope for the Best,

Tish

6 Responses to “Winter Book Report”


  1. 1 Debra May 5, 2014 at 5:08 PM

    Read “The Book Thief;”– interesting. Also “Gift from the Sea” — how did it take me so long to find this? Anna Q’s “Black and Blue.” Am still working on 2 by Andrew Solomon: “The Noonday Demon” about depression, and “Far From the Tree””.. about families. Great writer. Wait till you see what is on my list for the summer, when I really have time to read for a change!!! 🙂

  2. 3 Carol Early Cooney May 5, 2014 at 6:35 PM

    I loved the Book Thief! Then you can watch the movie.


Leave a Reply

