The Mystique of Long Lost Relatives

Beautiful Ancestors..wish I knew their stories.

Beautiful Ancestors..wish I knew their stories.

“Would you rather time travel to the past or the future…and why?” was the question in one of those “Table Talk” activities. My husband and I always cancel each other’s answer out…he is a future guy and I would love to step into the past and have tea with one of the long-lost relatives.

Last week I got the chance to “meet” some long-lost relatives through meeting a current day relative for the first time over dinner who came bearing photos and stories of generations past. Totally enthralling and it wasn’t even my side of the family but Tom’s that opened up that night.

Why the fascination? I keep asking myself that question. Does it change my life in any way knowing that my husband’s grandfather came over as a five-year old (my grandson’s age) on a crowded ship to Ellis Island? Does knowing about their hard lives in the “new” country make mine more significant in some way?

Does anyone really know why genealogy the fastest growing hobby in the United States? Tell me if you do, I’m so curious about the pull of the past.

The Bible is full of “begats”, a fancy word for genealogy so I take that as an affirmation that knowing who you came from is a good thing.  We all have our own “begats” and in this season of my life, I am longing to know more about those who have gone before whose genetic coding resides in me.

Someday I will be a “long lost relative” and so I am leaving a well-documented legacy of journals.  Hopefully someone will want to know me in future generations… but maybe not.

Meanwhile, I’m going to look a little deeper, as soon as I finish my photo albums…another piece of the ancestry puzzle.

Do you know who you came from? Do you care?

Hope for the Best,

Tish

2 Responses to “The Mystique of Long Lost Relatives”


  1. 1 Debra July 18, 2014 at 4:13 PM

    I was always interested in family history. My relatives had stories of ancestors who fought in the American Revolution– and the Clarks of the exploration– and crazy ladies who pioneered on their own, building sod houses and opening the West. I actually found that my grandfather’s grandparents were essential founders of southern Wisconsin and the historical society put up a marker to them, not 50 miles from where I now live. Who knew? I recently joined the DAR… why? well, it is interesting to think about all that past generations did, without thinking they were doing anything unusual. Just living their lives… that led to ours.


Leave a Reply

