Does your Family have a Motto?

MottoHave you seen one of those beautiful family mission statements done in calligraphy hanging on a wall in a friend’s home?  Me too. I always thought that would be so cool to create but never got around to it.

A motto is more manageable, although I can’t say that we ever had a meeting and chose one. That would have been a good idea too but oh well.

Although it was never posted on our fridge, I think the “motto” most often heard by my kids is:

“IT WILL ALL WORK OUT”

Usually spoken with a lot of confidence and my behind-the-scenes prayers. Of course everything does work out in the end with almost always a few twists and turns to the original script.

I ran into an article in the Trib which featured other families mottos (cozi.com/coziblog) and found them quite inspiring and entertaining.

Looking for a motto? Try some of these:

 

  • It’s Around Here Somewhere
  • Sometimes the Last Minute is the Only Minute
  • Work Hard, Play Hard, Pray Harder
  • Always Remember Where You Came From
  • Be Nice and Don’t Lie
  • Be Silly Be Honest Be Kind
  • Not Everybody’s Like Us!
  • Plans Have Changed

 

One of my all-time favorites that’s perhaps not exactly a motto but certainly a truism to me is:

Life is like pizza. Even when it is bad, it’s good.

What motto is or could be on your fridge?

Hope for the Best,

Tish

6 Responses to “Does your Family have a Motto?”


  1. 1 Susie September 29, 2014 at 4:13 PM

    The one on our fridge says, “You are stronger than you think you are!” attributed to “mom”

  2. 3 Carol Early Cooney September 29, 2014 at 5:01 PM

    Remember back when it was what will it say on your tombstone? I swear my would be “It will all work out”. My Mother and I said it to each other so often that we would just laugh when we said it.

  3. 5 TLC October 1, 2014 at 7:43 PM

    My fridge magnet says “Enjoy life – this is not a dress rehearsal!”


Leave a Reply

