Crisis Coping

love-hurts-1038501-mYou can often tell if a crisis is going on by telltale household clues. I have friends that bake their way through crises. The counter and sink are strewn with mixing bowls, baking soda sits on the counter for days, the aromas are tantalizing but the taste is sometimes bitter-sweet.

Other dear companions clean their way through life’s downward turns. The vacuum purrs incessantly, the fridge sparkles, the laundry never piles up. Almost as if cleaning erases the dirt of life for a minute.

Novels and or DVD’s stack up in another friend’s living room as a coping strategy against the real-life stories that take too much energy to deal with some days.

I don’t do any of those things. I put photos in albums.

Like the bakers, cleaners, and readers, I also create projects with photos in non-crises times but somehow the viewing and reliving of happy times reminds me of the goodness and stability that is truly around and within me. My choice of soundtracks reflect my mood and my fingers sometimes almost mindlessly go to work, trimming and affixing the photo to the page. It is very cathartic.

Conversations with God take place while sorting the pictures and I remember that I am a part of something far bigger than the current event. Prayers are not always answered but I feel heard.

My extended family is currently in a crisis and thus we all are too. My dining room table is full of photos these days and I look forward to the moments I can slip away from tasks and design another page. I’m not sure how or when this will be over but the work of my hands during this difficult time will hopefully last for future generations.

What do you do?

Appreciate your prayers.

Hope for the Best,

Tish

5 Responses to “Crisis Coping”


  1. 1 coloradokay October 2, 2014 at 4:00 PM

    When I’m stressed about something, I clean and pray simultaneously. When in crisis I whither and ask others to pray. Will be praying for your extended family.

  2. 3 TLC October 6, 2014 at 7:17 AM

    I go to the piano when I’m stressed with life. I pull out some favorite worship songs and try to let go and just be with God as I play.

  3. 5 judy November 16, 2014 at 1:40 AM

    Hi Tish, I am sorry you are going through a rough time. I pray you will move through it quickly and your photo projects help you to focus on the positive. Hugs judy


Leave a Reply

