Late Bloomers

Mums

In case you forgot, I don’t have a green thumb. The tomatoes I finally planted in July still have not yielded any round red fruit and I’m about ready to declare all gardening attempts over and out.

But then there is the front. Last year in a moment of fall festiveness I picked up four small pots of mums and a few days later actually put them in the ground. I don’t recall if I remembered to water them but in a couple of weeks they looked like my usual efforts…pitiful. I pulled out two of them and planned to return and yank out the others but I must have done other stuff instead.

No one was more amazed than me when I saw that they came back, huge and glorious! Full, colorful, beautiful in spite of my copious neglect. I was so delighted that I decided to buy a few more small pots this year and plant them to see what happens after they fizzle out. Of course, I haven’t done that yet.

The Return of the Mums did cause me to wonder what else in my life that I thought was never going to bloom might come back. Plants or even just seeds long ago laid down, trampled on, not watered that will turn out to show up when I least expect it. I’m going to keep my eyes open and my fingers in the seed packets. The Master Gardener will have the last word on what blooms, what dies.

“Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.” Robert Louis Stevenson.

Thank goodness!

Hope for the Best,

Tish

4 Responses to “Late Bloomers”


  1. 1 Carol Early Cooney October 23, 2014 at 3:45 PM

    I had noticed your colorful beauty! How great that they came back as a surprise. I love that!

  2. 3 helenhsm October 23, 2014 at 8:51 PM

    Yay for neglected plants that are perennials. I once planted a artichoke plant and then forgot about it, didn’t water it and the next year we got the best artichokes I had EVER eaten.


Leave a Reply

