Playing House for Real

IMG_1635

Last Saturday I had a rare day off and was out doing a few errands when I spotted the sign that makes me sing…Garage Sale! The Thrill of the Pre-Owned I wasn’t even expecting one on this late October day but I quickly pulled over.

Resting in the back was the large rug I have been waiting to find for years. Just the kind of rug I would expect from a house like this one in the north suburbs, beautiful, top-quality, near-perfect shape and to my amazement, under $20.

The proprietor was happy to roll it up and stick it in the back of my car and off I drove, giving thanks all the way home.

Back at home, the Playing House began. All my other to-do’s for the day had to step aside so I could set up my new rug which now felt like a new dining room which of course felt like a new house which suddenly was fun to clean!

Once the rug was all played with, it was delightful to rearrange pictures and get rid of some stuff taking up space. My energy level stayed high until late that evening, all because of a rug in a back yard.

Or maybe it was because of something deeper.

In an old notebook I recently found, 20 years ago I had written a lot about my long-term desire to “create an environment that produces creativity and beauty” to nurture all those that passed through.

I’m thinking for me, “Playing House” is tapping in to that longing. To set the stage for something more to happen.

Does that ever happen to you when something small you’re doing suddenly seems so much bigger?

Hope for the best,

Tish

4 Responses to “Playing House for Real”


  1. 1 linda sylvester October 30, 2014 at 7:56 PM

    Letitia, thanks for this story! I relate big time to what you are saying! I look forward to seeing your treasured rug, and steppiong into your creative and beautiful home!

    With love, Linda

  2. 3 Ann Krumwiede October 31, 2014 at 6:15 PM

    Great story,Tish. I simply love the part about creating a nurturing environment for those passing through.


Leave a Reply

